Our Staff

SENIOR PASTOR

Rev. Andrew J. Carlson, Sr., acarlson@zionfairbanks.org

As our Senior Pastor, Pastor Carlson preaches and teaches, leads our staff, and connects with Open Arms. He accepted the call to Zion and Open Arms in September, 2020 and began serving November 1, 2020.  For a complete biography click on the link below:

SPECIFIC MINISTRY PASTOR

Scott Barkdull, sbarkdull@gmail.com

After several years of preparation, study, and training, Scott was commissioned as a deacon on October 27, 2013.  He assists with the leading of a weekly service at the Pioneers Home, and he makes himself available for assistance to the church's needs.  He is now ordained and has been called to be a Specific Ministry Pastor here at Zion. 


SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR                                                                                                   

Susan Matchael, smatchael@zionfairbanks.org

Susan takes care of the day-to-day business operations of Zion and is responsible for the facilities and grounds. 


OPEN ARMS DIRECTOR

Maria Vilchez, mvilchez@openarmsfairbanks.org.

Maria serves as the director of Open Arms Child Development Center, which is a ministry of Zion Lutheran and has connected facilities with Zion.


ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT

Janice Witt, zion@zionfairbanks.org.


DISCIPLESHIP COORDINATOR

Heather Koch, Hkoch@zionfairbanks.org.

Heather coordinates the education aspects of Zion, like Sunday School, VBS, youth activities and adult bible studies.


Church Sexton

Catherine Harding


Board of Elders Leadership Council Open Arms Board of Directors
Chair, Bret Helms President, Craig Robinson Presidents, Sherry Young
Seat A1, Brooks Ludwig Vice Pres, Brian Cade Vice Pres, Cindy Helms
Seat A2, Steve Malcott Treasurer, Randy Weaver Treasurer, Debbie Gross
Seat B1, Dave Butherus Secretary, Kathy Steckel Secretary, Tammi Weaver
Seat B2, Nate Milan Seat A1, Cody Koch Members At Large:
Seat C1, David Gerdes Seat A2, Leslie Korvola Lisa Carlson
Seat C2, Mike Beifuss Seat B1, Linda Gronewald Doris Heilman
 Elder Advisor - Bill Slayden Seat B2, Blake Matray Erin Matray 
    Sarah Milan
    Janice Witt 
     
     

Pages